Prizes for Undergraduate Achievement in Maritime History, 2020

Posted: Monday 14th September 2020

The British Commission awards a small number of £75 prizes each year recognising excellence in undergraduate dissertations in the broad field of maritime history. 


The Commission is delighted to announce that the following students have been awarded prizes in 2020:


Ewan McCall (University of St Andrews), The Nabobs of Fife: the Public and Private Lives of the Bruce-Beck Network of Bombay in the late 1780s


Kieran Noble (University of Edinburgh), A Political and Economic Retreat? An Account of the Struggles of British Steamship Companies, on the

Upper Yangzi River, from 1920 to 1934

Alexander Pinder (University of Leeds), ‘Nelson would turn in his grave’: A Reassessment of the British Admiralty’s Attitudes and Impact upon

the British Submarine’s Development, between 1900-1914

Amy Stokes (University of Plymouth), Minds Lost at Sea: a Study of Mental Illness at Haslar Naval Asylum, 1832-35


Thomas Underwood (University of Portsmouth), Provincial Anarchy: the Limits of State Authority in the Governance of Hampshire’s Piratical Coastal

Communities, 1558-1603

Corey Watson (University of Plymouth), Life on the ‘Coffin Squadron’. A Study of the HMS Sybille and the HMS Black Joke of the Royal Navy’s

Slavery Suppression Squadron, 1827-30


Read more about Undergraduate prizes