Who We Are


Chair: Dr Cathryn Pearce (University of Portsmouth)
Vice Chair: Dr Helen Doe (University of Exeter) and Professor Richard Harding (University of Westminster)
Secretary: Dr David Jenkins (National Waterfront Museum, Swansea)
Treasurer: Dr Roy Fenton


(Fellows are longstanding Trustees who are elected by their fellow Trustees in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the BCMH)

  • Professor Wendy Childs, Univresity of Leeds
  • Miss Patricia Crimmin
  • Professor Peter Davies, University of Liverpool
  • Dr Alston Kennerley, University of Exeter
  • Professor Andrew Lambert, King’s College, London
  • Professor Sarah Palmer, University of Greenwich
  • Dr David Williams, University of Leicester


(Trustees are elected as individuals and not as representatives of other bodies)

  • Dr Harry Bennett, University of Plymouth
  • Dr Richard Blakemore, University of Reading
  • Dr James Davey, University of Exeter
  • Professor Maria Fusaro, University of Exeter
  • Dr Richard Gorski, University of Hull
  • Dr Sheryllyne Haggerty, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Richard Harding, University of Westminster
  • Dr Aaron Jaffer, National Maritime Museum
  • Dr Alan James, King’s College London
  • Mrs Barbara Jones, Lloyd’s Register
  • Professor Bernhard Klein, University of Kent
  • Dr Craig Lambert, University of Southampton
  • Emeritus Professor Derek Law, University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Margarette Lincoln, National Maritime Museum
  • Dr Renaud Morieux, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Nigel Rigby, National Maritime Museum
  • Dr Robb Robinson, University of Hull
  • Dr Peter Skidmore
  • Mr Peter Sowden, Boydell and Brewer
  • Professor David J. Starkey, University of Hull
  • Dr Chris Ware, University of Greenwich
  • Dr Nick White, Liverpool John Moore’s University