Latest News
Student and Research Prizes

Are you a student working on maritime history? Apply for our Undergraduate and Postgraduate prizes.

New Researchers Conference

Research degree students and independent scholars are warmly encouraged to share their work at our annual New Researchers Conference.

Undergraduate Prize Winners 2021 announced

Posted: Saturday 28th August 2021

Undergraduate Prize Winners 2021 announced

Each year, the British Commission awards a small number of £75 prizes recognising excellence in undergraduate dissertations in the broad field of maritime history. We are delighted to announce that the following students have been awarded prizes in 2021:

Adam Jackson  (University of Exeter), The Superannuation of Rear-Admirals in the Royal Navy between 1747 and 1827: An Investigation

Christopher Louis  (University of Edinburgh), A Court of War in an Uncertain Peace The Trials and Tribulations of the Sierra Leone Court of Vice Admirality in Britain's Suppression of the Transatlantic Slave Trade, 1814-1819

Oliver Maxwell  (University of Aberystwyth), A change in Course: An assessment of how the experience of the Falklands War impacted upon the design of Royal Navy ships, 1982-1990

Jack Owens  (Liverpool John Moores University), From Social Democracy to Neoliberalism: An Examination of How Government Industrial Policy Influenced the Deindustrialisation of the British Shipbuilding Industry, 1966-1988

Marcus Tan  (University of Oxford), Merchant-King or Pirate?  The Zheng Diplomatic Encounter with the Vereenigde Oostindische Compagnie (VOC) in the 1650s and 1660s

Henry Townsend  (University of York), A Transatlantic Perspective on the Merchants Trading between Britain and North America and their Efforts to Influence Parliament during the British Atlantic Imperial Crisis, c.1765-1775

To find out more about BCMH prizes, how to nominate someone and also see previous awards please visit our Prizes & Fellowships page.